Most people probably think that wage and hour issues with their employers are fairly straightforward: you do the work and the employer pays you the agreed-upon wages. Unfortunately, it isn’t always this simple. But, North Carolina has wage and hour laws that are intended to make sure employees get what they earn.
For starters, there is a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. If an employee is paid on an hourly basis, all hours that are worked in a week that exceed 40 hours are considered “overtime” hours and the employee is entitled to time and a half. So, for example, if an employee earns $8.00 per hour, that employee would earn $12.00 per hour for overtime work. However, the overtime requirements do not apply to salaried employees, in most cases.
These are just a few examples of wage and hour laws. There are many more nuances to compensation in the workplace. Paid time off, vacation time, tips, commissions – any employee who encounters these issues as part of the compensation they earn from their employer should take the time to understand their rights under North Carolina’s wage and hour laws.
Getting the right information
Employment lawyers understand that each year hundreds, if not thousands, of North Carolina residents will run into complications with their attempts to receive the required compensation from their employers. The lawyer can provide the right information about your own unique situations For more information, please visit the wage and hour overview section of the law firm’s website.